jump to navigation

Two Puzzle Month November 13, 2006

Posted by Sacha in Mathematics, Puzzles.
trackback

As I mentioned in my last post, I went to a puzzle challenge last weekend.  They had some great puzzles, so I’ve chosen two to be my puzzles of the month. 

The first one is time consuming, but even if you don’t solve the whole thing, the steps along the way are fun to do.  You use pictures and ASL letters to spell out words, then use those words to solve the puzzle.  I can’t link directly to the file because it’s a large .pdf, but go to the puzzle page hereand right click on “Local Wildlife” and choose the save file option.  Maybe your browser will just open the file, but I tried Firefox and IE and neither could do it.  Does anyone know what this type of puzzle is called?  I looked on Wikipedia in the puzzle type list and couldn’t find it. 

The second puzzle I recommend is called Equation Expedition.   This one is quicker and more mathy.   Make sure to read the handwriting on this one.

All the answers are here.

Have fun!

Comments

1. Brandon Bray - November 14, 2006

The “Local Wildlife” puzzle starts off by solving individual “Rebus” puzzles. Then, of course, it’s a matter of figuring out how it works.

I’m glad you liked it… I had a great time making it, even though it was cut in half by the time it made it to the final form in the puzzle challenge.

2. Sacha - November 14, 2006

Thanks, Brandon. I thought it was great that you guys created all the puzzles for the competition. Everything was so well put together.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

